Reconnecting America People * Places * Possibility

2013 Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence

More News & Resources:

Call for Entries

The Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence is seeking entries for its biennial award.

“American cities embody our nation’s greatest triumphs and most daunting challenges. At their best they show case the rich diversity, cultural achievement, and democratic values that characterize the American spirit. At their worst they reflect our country’s most persistent social ills – economic disparity, hopelessness, neglect and abandonment. Yet there are those places that are developed with such vision and imagination that they transform urban problems into creative solutions. By recognizing these extraordinary places, the Award seeks to promote fresh and innovative thinking about cities, and to encourage us all to demand excellence in our urban environments,” according to the 2013 Call For Entries. (View official brochure.)

One Gold Medal of $50,000 and four Silver Medals of $10,000 will be awarded. Projects must be a real place, not just a plan or a program, and be located in the 48 contiguous United States. Award winners may use prize money in any way that benefits the project.

Established in 1987, the Rudy Bruner Award is distinguished from other award programs by its broad eligibility criteria, the multi-disciplinary Selection Committee, and the detailed on-site evaluation of each finalist. Each award cycle is documented in in-depth case studies of the winners, and in a distillation of the Selection Committee discussions.

The Foundation does not restrict the kinds of projects that may apply. Urban excellence is a dynamic and changing concept, and the award process is enriched by a diversity of applications. Rudy Bruner Award winners are not selected through an established set of criteria. Rather, the criteria emerge from the Selection Committee discussion of the applications.

Visit to learn more about the award (including a digital archive and case studies of past winners) and to download the application. For more information, questions or to request a copy of the application or Call for Entries poster, email us at

The deadline for the 2013 Award is Dec. 10, 2012.