Reconnecting America People * Places * Possibility

Reconnecting America's Chris Yake Named To Mass Transit Magazine’s Top 40 Under 40 List

More News & Resources:

Reconnecting America Project Director Chris Yake has been named to Mass Transit magazine's 2012 Top 40 Under 40 List of young professionals who have made significant contributions to the public transit industry.

Yake was nominated by his peers.

"I am delighted that Chris' peers have acknowledged what we already knew: Chris' background and successful track record in communicating with various stakeholders and implementing strategies to support equitable TOD clearly merit inclusion in any list of Top 40 Under 40 people involved in transit ," said Reconnecting America President and CEO John Robert Smith.

Nominees are judged on criteria that included job commitment, industry involvement and contribution, achievement in his position and innovation in his field.

"I worked closely with Chris when he was a program manager at METRO, the metropolitan planning organization for Portland, Oregon," one of Yake's peers said in nominating him for the honor. "He was a true visionary, but well-grounded in the policies and regulations that guide urban development. He's passionate and committed to helping citizens envision their neighborhoods as walkable, connected, and sustainable. He's now bringing his considerable talents and experience, developed in Portland and Denver, Colorado, to the national level with Reconnecting America."

Yake is the third Reconnecting America staffer to be honored by Mass Transit magazine. Last year, Reconnecting America Chief Cartographer and New Media Director Jeff Wood was named to the list, and the year before, Policy Director Sarah Kline made the Top 40 Under 40 for her work as director of policy and government relations for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.

“Millions of people utilize public transportation every year, relying on it to transport them to work, school, social and sporting activities,” said Publisher John Hollenhorst in announcing this year's honorees. “The individuals chosen for this year’s list have been stand outs in their respective areas and show a strong passion and commitment that exemplifies the best of the best.”